Environmental PanelProducing Plays

Fellowship of Southern Writers

Founded in 1987 by a group of writers who met in Chattanooga, the Fellowship of Southern Writers (FSW) is a not-for-profit organization which has for its objective the encouragement of literature in the South.  It seeks to do this through commemorating outstanding literary achievement, encouraging young writers through awards, prizes and fellowships, recognizing distinction in writing by election to membership, and through other appropriate activities.

The FSW was formed because its twenty-two founding members believe that the American South is an identifiable and distinctive cultural and social community, and that the vitality and power of its literature justify recognition and encouragement.  The Fellowship will be composed of no more than 50 members at any given time.  New members are nominated by current members and elected by majority vote, and are drawn from among writers of fiction, poetry, drama, criticism, and history.  To be considered for membership a writer must have been born and raised, or have resided for a significant part of his or her life in the South, or have written works that in character and spirit embody aspects of Southern experience.

For purposes of being nominated for an award, prize, or fellowship offered under the auspices of the Fellowship, the same criterion for eligibility applies as those for being elected to membership.

The Fellowship is affiliated with the Arts & Education Council of Chattanooga and the Lupton Library of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, and will hold biennial convocations as part of the Arts & Education Council’s Conferences of Southern Literature.  Its archives will be housed at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

The Fellowship is now engaged in seeking funds for awards, prizes, fellowships, and other projects.  Awards may be named for individuals, including donors.  The elected officers are: Richard Bausch, Chancellor; John Shelton Reed, Vice-Chancellor; and George Core, Treasurer.

Learn more about the Fellowship of Southern Writers on their official website.

Grant Support Provided By

BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Community Trust - Chazen Family Foundation - The Kennedy Foundation - Lyndhurst Foundation - Public Education Foundation - Tennessee Arts Commisson - UC Foundation

Media Sponsors

Brewer Media - Chattarati - WDEF News 12 - WUTC 88.1

Program Partners

Anonymous Gift - Baylor School - Medium - Olan & Norma Mills II

Book Patrons

L. Hardwick & Kitty Caldwell - Memorial Healthcare System - The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and the UTC Department of English - Wild Hare Books

AEC is a funded member of Allied Arts of Greater Chattanooga.

Join the AEC mailing list